GLCC logoSimultaneous display
 
Home London League London Public Service League Club Competitions Calendar
 
 
 

Calendar 2017-18

Events in the GLCC chess-playing year. Home matches and other events at the clubroom are shown in red. Away events are in blue. All home matches start at 6.30pm.

Tuesday 5 September

First club night of the season; Shapson Trophy Lightning Tournament (10 seconds per move), single section all-play-all or Swiss, depending on entries, start 7.00pm. Open to all players; entry fees: £4 for GLCC members, 6 for non-members entering in advance, 10 for non-members entering on the day. 40% of entry fees returned as prizes, remainder to club funds. To enter in advance, phone or email Nigel Blades (tel 020 8580 5872, tournaments@glcc.org.uk), giving your name and grade. Entry fee payable in cash on the day of the tournament.

Tuesday 12 September

FIDE Rated Open Blitz Tournament incorporating the Public Service League Individual Blitz Championships, start 6.45pm, 3 minutes + 2 second increment per player per game. Open and U-150 (U-1825 FIDE) sections all-play-all or Swiss system, depending on entries. Ten rounds, finishing by 9.30-10pm. Entry fees: 4 for GLCC members and Public Service League players, 8 for non-members entering in advance, 12 for non-members entering on the day.

Wednesday 13 September LPSCL 3rd team away to Treasury 3

Tuesday 19 September

Autumn General Meeting, start 6.30pm. Prizegiving followed by the Club Champion's Simultaneous Display. Simul open to club members graded U-150ECF and prospective new members. Opening up: Nigel B

Wednesday 20 September

LPSCL 1st team away to Treasury 1

Thursday 21 September

LPSCL 3rd team away to Pimlico 4

Tuesday 26 September

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to Treasury 2. Opening up: Nigel B

Tuesday 3 October

Club night; LPSCL 3rd team home to UNATS 2; LL 2nd team home to Streatham & Brixton 3; LL 4th team home to Battersea 5. Opening up: Tom

Wednesday 4 October

LPSCL 1st team away to DHSS 1

Tuesday 10 October

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to Pimlico Home. Opening up: Andriy/Tony

Wednesday 11 October

LPSCL 2nd team away to DHSS 2

Thursday 12 October

LL 1st team away to Cavendish 3

Tuesday 17 October

Club night; LPSCL 3rd team home to Revenue & Customs 3; LL 2nd team home to Kings Head 3; LL 4th team home to Hackney 6. Opening up: Tom

Tuesday 24 October

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to UNATS 1; LL 1st team home to Hammersmith 1; LL 3rd team home to Lewisham 3. Opening up: Andriy/Nigel H

Tuesday 31 October

Club night; Opening up: Nigel B

Thursday 2 November

LPSCL 1st team away to Pimlico Justice

Tuesday 7 November

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to Pimlico 3; LL 1st team home to Battersea 2; LL 3rd team home to Battersea 4. Opening up: Andriy/Nigel H

Tuesday 14 November

Club night; LPSCL 3rd team home to DHSS 3; LL 3rd team home to Hackney 4. Opening up Tyrone/Nigel H

Thursday 16 November

LPSCL 1st team away to Revenue & Customs 1

Tuesday 21 November

Club night; LL 1st team home to Athenaeum 2. Opening up: Andriy

Thursday 23 November

LPSCL 2nd team away to Revenue & Customs 2

Tuesday 28 November

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to Pimlico Justice (Bonar Law Cup); LL 2nd team home to Morley College 1; LL 4th team home to Hackney 5. Opening up: Tom

Thursday 30 November

LPSCL 3rd team away to Sparta

Tuesday 5 December

Club night; opening up: Nigel B

Tuesday 12 December

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to Revenue & Customs 2 (Post Annual Cup). Opening up: Tony/Nigel H

Tuesday 19 December

Club night; Christmas Tournament at odds for the Phil Jeffries Trophy. Our annual Christmas event played at 19th century style odds, depending on grade handicap. Five round Swiss tournament (15 minutes per player per game), entry fee for members 8, non-members 12, Christmas drinks and buffet; Opening up: Nigel B. Start 6.45pm.

Tuesday 26 December

Closed;

Tuesday 2 January

Closed;

Tuesday 9 January

Club night;FIDE Rated Open Blitz Tournament; start 6.45pm, 10-round single section Swiss. Rate of play: 5 minutes per player per game. Entry fees: 4 for GLCC members, 8 for non-members entering in advance, 12 for non-members entering after 6pm on Monday 8th January; Opening up: Nigel B

Tuesday 16 January

Club night; LL 1st team home to Wimbledon 2; LL 3rd team home to Kings Head 4; Opening up: Andriy/Nigel H

Wednesday 17 January

LPSCL 2nd team away to Treasury 2

Tuesday 23 January

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to Treasury 1; LPSCL 3rd team home to Pimlico 4; LL 2nd team home to Metropolitan 4; LL 4th team home to Wanstead & Woodford 4; Opening up: Tom

Tuesday 30 January

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to Revenue & Customs 2; LL 1st team home to Hackney 3; LL 3rd team home to Cavendish 4; Opening up: Andriy/Nigel H

Tuesday 6 February

Club night; LL 2nd team home to British Bangla Chess Association 1; LL 4th team home to Hammersmith 4; Opening up: Tom

Thursday 8 February

LPSCL 3rd team away to UNATS 2

Tuesday 13 February

Club night; LL 1st team home to Wanstead & Woodford 2; LL 3rd team home to Hammersmith 3; Opening up: Andriy/Nigel H

Tuesday 20 February

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to Revenue & Customs 1; LL 2nd team home to Alfil 1; LL 4th team home to Morley College 2; Opening up: Tom

Thursday 22 February

LPSCL 3rd team away to Revenue & Customs 3

Tuesday 27 February

Club night; Opening up: Nigel B

Wednesday 28 February

LL 2nd team away to Athenaeum 3

Thursday 1 March

LPSCL 2nd team away to Pimlico 3

Tuesday 6 March

Club night; LPSCL 3rd team home to Treasury 3; LL 1st team home to Metropolitan 2;; LL 3rd team home to new team tbc; Opening up: Andriy/Nigel H

Tuesday 13 March

Club night; LL 2nd team home to Hammersmith 2; LL 4th team home to Hammersmith 5; Opening up: Tom

Thursday 15 March

LPSCL 2nd team away to UNATS 1

Tuesday 20 March

Club night; Bush Handicap Tournament; start 6.45pm; 30 minutes per game split between players according to grade difference. Entry fees: 4 for members, 8 for non-members entering in advance. Opening up: Nigel B

Thursday 22 March

LL 2nd team away to Metropolitan 3

Tuesday 27 March

Club night; LL 1st team home to DHSS 1; LL 3rd team home to Streatham & Brixton 4; Opening up: Andriy/Nigel H

Tuesday 3 April

Club night;

Tuesday 10 April

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to DHSS 1; LPSCL 3rd team home to Sparta; LL 2nd team home to Wanstead & Woodford 3; LL 4th team home to Metropolitan 5; Opening up: Tom/Tyrone

Tuesday 17 April

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to DHSS 2; LL 1st team home to Kings Head 2; LL 3rd team home to Pimlico 1; Opening up: Andriy/Nigel H

Tuesday 24 April

Club night; Cup Finals Night; LL 2nd team home to Lewisham 2; LL 4th team home to Athenaeum 4; Opening up: Tom

Thursday 26 April LPSCL 3rd team away to DHSS 3

Tuesday 1 May

Club night; LL 1st team home to Battersea 3; LL 4th team home to DHSS 2: Opening up: Andriy/Nigel B

Tuesday 8 May

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to Pimlico Justice; Opening up: Andriy/Nigel B

Tuesday 15 May

Club night;

Wednesday 16 May LL 2nd team away to Newham 1
Monday 21 May LL 1st team away to Albany 1

Tuesday 22 May

Club night;

Thursday 24 May

Public Service League Team Blitz

Tuesday 29 May

Club night;

Thursday 31 May

LPSCL 1st team away to Pimlico Home

Tuesday 5 June

Summer Tournament (June Gorton Memorial Tournament), start 6.45pm, five round single section Swiss, 15 minutes per player per game. Entry fees: 4 for members, 8 for non-members entering in advance, 12 for non-members entering on the day; Opening up: Nigel B

Tuesday 12 June

Club night; Annual General Meeting, start 6.45pm; no chess played until AGM concluded

Tuesday 19 June

Club night; FIDE Rated Open Blitz Tournament; start 6.45pm, 10-round single section Swiss. Rate of play: 3 minutes + 2 second increments. Entry fees: 3 for members, 7 for non-members entering in advance, 12 for non-members entering on the day; Opening up: Nigel B

Tuesday 26 June Last club night of the season;
Saturday 30 June Saturday Rapidplay Tournament. Five round Swiss, 25 minutes per player + 5 second increment. Open, U-160 and U-120 sections.

Sunday 29 July

Friendly match away to Hastings Chess Club

 

 

 

HomeLondon LeagueLondon Public Service LeagueClub CompetitionsCalendar
© Greater London Chess Club